Northern Heat program is up and flying

The 2019/2020 Northern Heat program is under way, with the squad coming together on Saturday for the first training session.

The program features the best Under 17 and Under 18 players from both the North Coast and North West regions and aims to prepare these players to make the full time step to Senior footy in 2020.

The first training session included video analysis of team movement, fitness testing, and ball movement exercises. Players used GPS trackers, with Southern Cross University sport scientists monitoring distances covered, maximum velocity, and impact spikes.

The session concluded with a yoga and mindfulness exercise which is becoming increasingly prevalent amongst AFL footballers as they attempt to reduce soft tissue injuries.

Matt Anderson, co-Head Coach of the Northern Heat, was particularly impressed by the commitment shown by the members of the squad. “The Northern Heat program runs across the off season so the boys are showing great commitment to improve as footballers, especially when the weather was as hot and humid as it was on Saturday.

“Some of the players did a round trip of over 800km from places like Moree and Brisbane to be at the session, so we know the training that we’re offering is highly valued.

“We next come together in late November so the boys will be provided with a running program and it will be up to them to do the work at home to continue to reap the benefits of being part of this squad.”

The first session was held at the C.ex Coffs International Stadium precinct with the $13M upgrades really making an impression on the players.

The next session is on Saturday 23 November at UNE Armidale and will include the squad being led through a gym program by a former Sydney Swans strength and conditioning coach.

The Northern Heat squad is below:

Angus Anderson (Sawtell Toormina Saints)

Kade Bagnall (Grafton Tigers)

Hayden Baker (Gunnedah Bulldogs)

Tim Beattie (Inverell Saints)

Danny Brown (Moree Suns)

Tyler Donovan (Sawtell Toormina Saints)

Morgan Dunn (New England Nomads)

Nick Fisher (Moree Suns)

Lachie Martin (Inverell Saints)

Dylan Moore (New England Nomads)

Alex Pyke (Sawtell Toormina Saints)

Riley Sandral (Inverell Saints)

Ronan Singleton (Sawtell Toormina Saints)

Camden Sparke-Gaukroger (Inverell Saints)

Liam Spencer (Coffs Harbour Breakers)

Ryan Swann (New England Nomads)

Noah Swarski (Grafton Tigers)

Jasper Thomas (Gunnedah Bulldogs)

Malakai Troutman (Sawtell Toormina Saints)

Des Tuckerman (Gunnedah Bulldogs)

Evan Whitty (Grafton Tigers)

Kye Wilson (Port Macquarie Magpies)